top of page

Grace Chapter # 100
Order of the Eastern Star

Grace Cha (1).jpg

History of Grace Chapter #100, OES



Grace Chapter #100 would seem to exemplify the old adage, “Mighty oaks from little acorns grow”. In the spring of 1967 a small group of women and a few men gathered to investigate the feasibility of forming an Eastern Star Chapter. The sponsoring lodge was King David No. 116 with Brother William Eakins serving as Worshipful Master. None of the persons present knew what this might entail; however, they were willing and the die was cast. 

Sister Grace Beasley was the Grand Deputy of District No. 4, Amaranth Grand Chapter Order of the Eastern Star. She was contacted and expressed a willingness to assist our group in becoming a chapter. Brother William Long was serving as Grand Worthy Patron. Concerning our wishes; he sanctioned the idea and Grace Club was formed with Mrs. Blanche Eakins as President, Daisy L. Lewis, Vice President, LuFrances Wilkerson, Secretary, and Mary Parks as Treasurer. 

We worked for many months as a Club under dispensation preparing for the day we became an Eastern Star Chapter. On August 6th, at the annual meeting of Amaranth Grand Chapter, we were granted a charter and became Grace Chapter No. 100. Brother William Long was Grand Worthy Patron and Sister Martha Thompson was Grand Worthy Matron. The Officers were:


Worthy Matron—Blanche Eakins

Worthy Patron—John Hillmon

Associate Marton—Daisy L. Lewis

Associate Patron—Kenneth E. Lewis

Conductress—Drexel Thomas

Associate Conductress—LuFrances Wilkerson

Secretary—Mary Parks

Treasurer— Betty Collins

Adah—Ruth Jones

Ruth—Betty Tucker

Esther—Veronis McAfee

Martha—Elizabeth Allen

Electa—Elizabeth Fiels,


Sentinel—Thomas Phillips


Since its inception, Grace Chapter has been honored to have a number of its members serve Amaranth Grand Chapter. Sister Daisy Lewis served as Grand Deputy, and was later elected as Grand Worthy Matron (1984-1986). Sister Zeda Roberson also served as Grand Deputy and was later elected Grand Worthy Matron (2006-2008). Shelia Francis currently serves as Grand Secretary (2018 - present) and she also served as Grand Deputy (2006-2008). Others who served as Grand Deputy were Sisters Drexel Thomas, LaVerna Elder, Adrianne Mathis and Carla Hargrave. Additional members served in various appointed positions. Past Grand Worthy Matron Karen James now calls Grace Chapter home.

Current officers:

Worthy Matron— JoAnn Slade, PM

Worthy Patron— Terrell Blount

Associate Marton— Ericka Roberts

Associate Patron— Chance Roberson

Conductress— Frances Buggs-Sanders

Associate Conductress— Carla Hargrave, PM

Secretary— Lisa Barkley

Treasurer— Tamah Yisrael, PM

Grace Chapter # 100 Prayer Breakfast
Saturday, April 20, 2024
8:00 a.m. - Noon
966 Oakwood Avenue

Habitat for Humanity 

Community Service Project


Saturday April 27th       10 a.m. - 12 p.m.

3140 Westerville Road Columbus, OH 43224

Grace Chapter # 100

APRIL 2024 Calendar

5th     Grace Chapter Business meeting

20th   Grace Chapter Prayer Breakfast

26th   Grace Chapter Ritualistic meeting

27th   Habitat for Humanity Community Service

bottom of page